Pete LuPiba

Primary Point Of Contact

Pete LuPiba

Executive Director

OBM Communications

30 East Broad Street, Floor 34

Columbus, OH, 43215

pete.lupiba@obm.ohio.gov, ph 614.466.6573

secondary point of contact

Chip Merkle

Youth Specialist

Beightler Armory

2825 W. Dublin-Granville Rd

Columbus, OH 43235


ph 614.336.7456 or 614.296.7694

Danny Eakins

Ohio Dept of Veterans Services,

77 South High Street

Columbus, OH, 43215

daniel.eakins@dvs.ohio.gov, ph 614.728.4925

Chief State School Officer

Paolo DeMaria, State Superintendent, Ohio Department of Education


Education Designee

Pete LuPiba, Executive Director, OBM Communications


Military Family Education Liaison

Janet Wynn, School Liaison Officer, Wright-Patterson AFB


Military/DoD Representative

Lt Col Renardo Brown, 88 Dep MSG CC, Wright-Patterson AFB


thomas d. rutan State Council Members - ohio

Pete LuPiba, OBM Communications and Council Chair


Danny Eakins, Ohio Department of Veterans Services


Janet Wynn, School Liaison Officer – Wright-Patterson AFB


Roxanne Price, Ohio High School Athletic Association


Shari Obrenski, Ohio Federation of Teachers


Julie Davis, Ohio Association of Elementary School Administrators


Sherry Ems, United Services Organization (USO)


Ken Baker, Ohio Association of Secondary School Administrators


Dave Axner, Buckeye Association of School Administrators


Tammy Puff, The Honorable Mike DeWine – Office of the Governor


Jason Durell, School Counselor – Olentangy Local Schools


Lt Col Renardo Brown, 88 Dep MSG CC, Wright-Patterson AFB


Senator Andy Brenner, Ohio State Senate


Senator Kenny Yuko, Ohio State Senate


Representative Tracy Richardson, Ohio House of Representatives


Representative Casey Weinstein, Ohio House of Representatives


Jared Shank, Director, Military and Apprenticeship Initiatives


Chip Merkle, Ohio National Guard – Education Programs


Chris Picha, Ohio Department of Veterans Services


Susan Boggs, Ohio School Counselor Association


Andreana Tartt, Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services


Mark Scherer, Ohio National Guard – Youth Programs


Chad Wyen, District Superintendent – Mad River Local Schools


William Stratton, U.S. Army Recruiting Battalion


Corey O’Brien, Ohio Association of Purple Star Schools (Hamilton Township HS Teacher)


Sheila Ragland, Ohio Parent Teacher Association


Michelle Lewis, Ohio Association of Purple Star Schools (Hyatts MS Teacher)


Erin Lunday, Wright Patterson AFB Community


Dave Schklar, Troops to Teachers


Ashley Twedt, Ohio Association of Purple Star Schools (Bellville ES Teacher)


Venessa Menerey, Ohio Department of Education


State Council Meetings

Ohio State Council Meeting, May 10, 2017

Ohio State Council Meeting, August 23, 2017

Ohio State Council Meeting, December 13, 2017

Ohio State Council Meeting, May 14, 2018

Agenda May 14, 2018

Ohio State Council Meeting, November 15, 2018

Agenda November 15, 2018


State Website

Supporting Ohio's Military Families - Ohio Department of Education


end of year report

Ohio Report 2017-18

Ohio Report 2018-19



Interstate Compact in Ohio Statute

Military Interstate Children's Compact Commission (MIC3)

1776 Avenue of the States

Lexington, KY 40511


Phone: 859-244-8000  | Fax: 859-244-8001